Addis Ababa University (AAU) was established in 1950 as the University College of Addis Ababa and is the oldest and the largest higher learning and research institution in Ethiopia. Since inception, the University has been the leading center in teaching-learning, research and community services.

AAU currently has 48,673 students, including 33,940 undergraduate, 13,000 graduate and 1733 PhD students, and 6043 staff, including 2,408 academics and 3,635 support staff. In its 14 campuses, the University runs 70 undergraduate and 293 graduate programs, including 72 PhD and 221 Masters, and various specializations in Health Sciences. Over 222,000 students have graduated from AAU since its establishment.

In recent years, the University has been undertaking various reform schemes in order to cope with and respond to the fast changing national and international educational dynamics. At present the University has 10 colleges, 4 institutes that run both teaching and research, and 6 research institutes that predominantly conduct research. Within these academic units, there are 55 departments, 12 centers, 12 schools, and 2 teaching hospitals.

Open Calls





Introducing safer bio-pesticides in small farms